You are here: News



News and Announcements

REALTOR Eric Porter Named CCAR REALTOR of the Year

CCAR Award winners also announced

REALTOR® Eric Porter, a real estate broker with The Real Estate Group, Inc. in Champaign, has been named the 2022 REALTOR® of the Year for the Champaign County Association of REALTORS®. Porter received the award at the CCAR awards banquet on Sept. 16th at the Hilton Garden Inn in Champaign.

The award is based on involvement in the REALTOR® Association, the real estate industry and contributions to the community.

Eric Porter has been a licensed real estate broker since 1986 and a member of the Association since then. He has served on numerous committees for CCAR including the MLS Committee, Professional Standards and the Member Services Involvement Group. Dedicated to furthering his education, Porter also obtained the Certified Residential Specialist (CRS designation), Graduate of the REALTOR® Institute of Illinois (GRI Designation) and Senior Real Estate Specialist (SRES designation).

He also is a graduate of the Illinois REALTORS® (IR) Leadership Development Program and has served on the IR Business Issues and License Law Reform Committee and is currently an active member of the Illinois REALTORS® Ethics Citation panel.

During his term as president of the Champaign County Association of REALTORS®, Porter passionately led his President’s Charity Initiative to raise over $40,000 for CU-At Home’s Once Winter Night program in Feb. 2019.

He serves the Champaign area community and is a past president and board member of the Judah Christian School board, former deacon and current member of the Meadowbrook Community Church, and presently serves as the HOA president for the Highland Hills condominium association. Porter is a past board member of the Central Illinois Credit Union.

“Eric is a distinguished professional, knowledgeable, ethical and a committed advocate and role model for the real estate industry,” said Stefanie Pratt, president of the Champaign County Association of REALTORS®. “We recognize him this year for all of his outstanding contributions to the industry through his involvement and personal leadership to the REALTOR® Association and our community.”

He will be recognized at the Illinois REALTORS® REALTOR® of the Year banquet in 2023 in Springfield.

Other individuals recognized at the CCAR Awards banquet include:

REALTOR® Randy Hastings, a broker with the Hillard Agency in Tuscola, who received the Affiliate C.H.O.I.C.E. Award. The award is recognized annually to a REALTOR® selected by Affiliate members in recognition for his/her outstanding service to the real estate industry.

REALTOR® Darrin Lund, a broker with Joel Ward Homes, Inc. received the R.O.O.K.I.E. of the Year award. The award is presented annually to a new REALTOR® who has been in the industry no more than two years but who has actively served on Association committees.

Shay Moore, Senior Mortgage Banker with 217 Mortgage Powered by Flat Branch Home Loans, received the Affiliate of the Year award. The award is bestowed on a CCAR Affiliate member each year in recognition of their contribution to furthering the local real estate profession through participation in Association activities and committees and assisting REALTOR® members.

Bill Craig, Managing Broker with RE/MAX Realty Associates, is the first recipient of the Linda J. Green Legacy Award. The award is presented annually to a REALTOR® member of CCAR who has at least 15 consecutive years as a member of CCAR, has made special contributions to the Association during their real estate career and community, and is seen as a leader in the industry. The new award honors former CCAR CEO Linda. J. Green.

The Champaign County Association of REALTORS® is a voluntary organization serving Champaign County and surrounding areas and is the leading resource for REALTOR® members and an advocate for homeownership and private property rights.

Monday, September 19, 2022/Categories: News Releases