You are here: News



News and Announcements

Jim Waller Named CCAR REALTOR of the Year

REALTOR® Jim Waller, a licensed real estate broker with Coldwell Banker Real Estate Group of Champaign, has been named the 2019 REALTOR® of the Year for the Champaign County Association of REALTORS®. Waller received the award at the CCAR annual awards banquet on October 18, 2019 at the Laborer’s International Union Hall in Urbana.

The award is based on involvement to the REALTOR® Association, the real estate industry and contributions to the community. 

Waller received his real estate license in 1984. He served as president of the Champaign County Association of REALTORS® in 2016-17. Waller has served on many CCAR committees including the Association Operations Committee, Technology Development and Multiple Listing Service Committee. 

He is also a graduate of the Illinois REALTORS® Leadership Development program. Waller currently serves on the Illinois REALTOR® Business Issues and License Law Forum and Housing Opportunity Working Group.

“This year we recognize Jim Waller for his outstanding contributions to our industry through his involvement with the Champaign County Association of REALTORS® and the Champaign community,” said REALTOR® Max McComb, immediate past president of the Champaign County Association of REALTORS® and Master of Ceremonies (MC) for the event. 

Active in the community, Waller is involved in St. John’s Lutheran Church as an elder and has also served as a school board member. He will be recognized at the Illinois REALTORS® REALTOR® of the Year Banquet on April 20, 2020 in Springfield.

Other individuals recognized at the CCAR Awards banquet include:

REALTOR® Christina Hawn, a broker with RE/MAX Realty Associates in Champaign, received the R.O.O.K.I.E. of the Year award. The award is presented annually to a new REALTOR® who has been in the industry no more than two years but who has actively served on Association committees.

REALTOR® Davonne Porter, a broker with RE/MAX Realty Associates of Champaign, received the Affiliate Choice Award. The award is recognized annually to a REALTOR® selected by affiliate members in recognition of his/her outstanding service to the real estate industry.

Denise Zindars of PNC Bank received the Affiliate of the Year award. The award is bestowed on a CCAR affiliate member each year in recognition for their contribution to furthering the local real estate profession through participation in Association activities and committees and assisting REALTOR® members.

REALTOR® Ryan Elwell, a broker with RE/MAX Realty Associates received the affiliate partnership scholarship.

The Champaign County Association of REALTORS® is a voluntary organization serving Champaign County and surrounding areas, and is the leading resource for REALTOR® members and an advocate for homeownership and private property rights.

Tuesday, October 22, 2019/Categories: News Releases